Peter Blane


Racism: a warning

Posted in government by wusspett on September 16, 2009

If any of you disagree with President Obama’s policies, character, or beliefs you are probably racist.  Although it’s possible that you’re not racist for opposing Obama, chances are you really are racist.  Ask Jimmy Carter if you have any further inquiries – he is the one claiming this.

There are several reasons this piece of news has struck a chord with me.  Jimmy Carter sites the south as his knowledge on the subject:

“I live in the South, and I’ve seen the South come a long way, and I’ve seen the rest of the country that shared the South’s attitude toward minority groups at that time, particularly African Americans”

So, the first reason I disagree with this opinion of Jimmy’s is because, if people take what he says to heart and judge accordingly, anything I say that happens to oppose Obama’s policies, beliefs, or character will be regarded as my being racist.  Since I do live in the South, these statements target me especially.  Because anyone who sincerely agrees with Jimmy Carter will follow the same line of thinking in judging my opinion.

A second reason this proclamation is disturbing to me is the extreme over-use and out-right smearing of the true meaning of racism.  The definition of racism has been so distorted, no one is certain for sure what it means and the race card can be used at will to belittle and discredit someone.  Racism means that someone truly believes that their race is SUPERIOR to another race.  So, if my Indian friend disagrees with Obama’s policy, in Jimmy Carter’s mind, he’s a racist.  I have a feeling that Jimmy Carter was not trying to target Indians, but, rather, white conservatives.  I would be much happier if Jimmy Carter just said, “All you concervatives, just shut up”.

My third reason for being upset about these statements made by the cute, old grandpa is that I think he can’t find another way to rise to the top of the political party.  What better way to raise yourself to new levels in your political party by kissing some booty?  “Mr. President, I like you more than anyone else does.  You don’t believe me?  Watch this…”  In my opinion this is a sad, desperate attempt for attention and he is selling himself away in hopes of further approval.

done.

Leave a Reply

